Login   Register     FAQ    Members

View unanswered posts   View active topics

Board index .:|:. Sharing the Hanes :: Community .:|:. Recommendations
It is currently 02 Mar 2021, 20:27

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 484 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 25  Next
 Post subject: What We're Reading II
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2014, 23:00 
Being rescued by Dr Ackles
Being rescued by Dr Ackles

I'm starting a new thread because the previous one is 50 pages and keeps on crashing the CBB iPhone app!

Top | End

Post subject: Re: What We're Reading II
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2014, 23:25 
End of term...again
End of term...again

Well, I am reading Death And The Maiden, by Frank Tallis - might be of interest to some here. Turn of the century Vienna, crime, psychology, music and food, all combined into one splendid series. The prose can be a little turgid, but Tallis knows his stuff (he's a psychologist by profession) and he loves his music, and loves Vienna and it comes across beautifully. Death And The Maiden is my favourite because my all time favourite composer, Gustav Mahler, gets an actual substantial role, rather than just wandering past in the distance as he does in the other books :D But they are a series with a definite plot trajectory, so if you fancy them, it's worth starting at the beginning (I didn't, but I started early enough to get the gist). The first is Mortal Mischief. They're all really good and tend to delve into a somewhat murky aspect of fin de siècle Vienna's society. Really fascinating :)